Stuffed & Roasted Organic Lamb Breast

Last weekend at my local farmers market in Walthamstow I bought a gorgeous looking organic breast of lamb, deep in red coloured marbling and sold to me directly from the farm’s own stall (like all the stalls there)- I was pretty excited to cook with it, but how?! A breast of chicken, simples, but a breast of lamb… MUCH more difficult, the breast on a lamb includes part of the ribs so what would make sense would be slow cooking it in a nice stew till the meat just fell off… but I had a roast in mind, and as I don’t eat meat myself it meant that I could still indulge in mountains of crispy roast spuds (that’s potatoes for those that don’t speak Aussie dad) so I had to find a way to roast this beast and finally decided to stuff it, quite literally. The only stuffing recipe I vaguely knew was one that my mum used to use when I was a kid and now that I had my own garden of herbs I decided to use it, it also helps to say that this stuffing can be used for most meats including red or white. 
 
For the Stuffing:
 
4 slices of white bread made into crumbs (easiest way is in a blender or nutribullet)
4 sage leaves
2 tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
2 sprigs of thyme
2 sprigs of rosemary
2 eggs
1 small white onion
1 large clove of garlic
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cracked black pepper
 
Chop all your herbs very finely then once all the bread crumbs are crumby (totally the technical term) you can mix all the ingredients together adding in two eggs at the end to bind them together. 
IMG_1833
 
Now don’t be afraid to get your hands into it and roll everything together evenly like a big fat sausage. 
 
Break your ‘sausage’ in half and use half to roll out evenly across what will be the middle of your lamb (the least fleshy side and the way the ribs want to fold naturally). 
 
If you have a particularly large rack then you can add more stuffing but the reason I say just use half is because if, like me, you’re catering for vegetarians and meat eaters you can use the remainder of the stuffing to make vegetarian stuffing balls (this recipe should make 3-4)
IMG_1828
Why farmers markets? I almost always get my ingredients from the farmers market on the weekend and if you’re wondering why then this is it- the money goes directly back to the farmer helping them not only stay afloat but to keep providing us with great quality produce with livestock or crops that have been lovingly looked after with the best possible care and food. Without this local support a lot of farms go out of business because of the money it costs to keep them afloat. Not only that but it’s a great day out! If you like food then the stalls aren’t only limited to produce that you have to cook to enjoy, there are loads of local established or brand new pop-up food stalls that are usually scattered about selling all sorts of deliciousness… it’s a wonder sometimes I even make it to the produce! 
IMG_1831
 What is lamb?
Lamb is a sheep which is under a year old… where is the breast? Here’s a little diagram that I borrowed from google images: The ‘best end’ is also known as the rack of lamb and the chump is a loin. 
lamb-cuts1
IMG_1838NOM APPETITE

We hope you enjoy this recipe and if you want to see what we really look like check us out on YouTube (and SHARE SHARE SHARE) you can see footage of us and watch us turn this blog into a tv series in Italy by following us on Facebook (farm2face), twitter (farmtoface1) and Instagram (farmtoface) you can see all the behind the scenes stuff soon too!  🙂

Hugs & Nonsense

M&G

2 thoughts on “Stuffed & Roasted Organic Lamb Breast

Leave a Reply

