Italian Chickpea Bread (Farinata, only 3 ingredients)

Gluten free bread is hard, (sometimes literally!) but with a surplus of chick pea flour I picked up in one of my random shops I turned to google to find some inspiration and found ‘Farinata’. As the recipe is italian I thought I should give it a whirl in case I came across it on our travels to Italy then I could pretend I was an old hand at it. I’m just going to follow the recipe on this one so as to make something simple for a change but I think it’d be lovely with a bit of garlic powder just to give it a bit of extra bite.

Just FYI Dont expect this ‘bread to be light and fluffy its a bit more like a flatbread and has a spongey kind of hard pancake feel to it, still, its GREAT with dips.

Grab the following ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups Chickpea flour (also called Garbanzo flour or gram flour)
  • 3.5 cups Water
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • Pinch of salt & pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together, adding the water slowly so to avoid any lumps (I used an electric mixer but you dont have to, its easily done by hand). Dont get distressed if you think its too watery, its supposed to be like that.

Let the mixture sit for at least half an hour, I let mine sit for 4 hours and went and caught up with girlfriends for coffee.

Preheat your oven to 180 celcius.

Skim the mixture of any froth thats gathered and pour into a large pan.

Oil your pan (only lightly, the oil in the mixture should do most of the work)- Choose a roasting pan, one the width of almost your oven (around 40cm or so) so that the mixture is less than 2cm deep in the pan. Dont make the same mistake I did and pick a pan that isnt completely flat on the bottom- its REALLY hard to get the bread out of the little grooves around the edges, you’ve been warned.

Cook on 180 degrees for 30 mins or until the top starts to go a golden brown.

Let the bread cool and then run a sharp knife through cutting it into manageble pieces and scrape out with a metal spatula.

You can eat this deliciousness by itself but I find it best with dips, my favourites are pesto or chilli dip. 🙂

 

Being that I’m currently in Italy I would like to confirm that I have tried this from the bakery in Genova , it tasted pretty much the same as when I made it from this recipe but I would add parmesan now looking back on it.

 

We hope you enjoy this recipe and if you want to see what we really look like check us out on YouTube (and SHARE SHARE SHARE) you can see footage of us and watch us turn this blog into a tv series in Italy this July 2014 by following us on Facebook (farm2face), twitter (farmtoface1) and Instagram (farmtoface) you can see all the behind the scenes stuff too! 🙂

Hugs & Nonsense

M&G

 

Leave a Reply

