Wild Mushroom & Truffle Pasta

I think I finally cracked ‘the spagetti code’, I might be slow on the uptake here but in case you didnt know it turns out that one serving of dried spaghetti is the same amount as you would expect to fit through the top of a soft drink bottle. To make things even easier you could cut the bottom off a bottle and use it as a funnel/ spaghetti measuring device. Now if that isnt genius re-purposing then I dont know what is.

To serve 4 comfortably you will need:

  • 3 portabello mushrooms
  • 4 morels
  • tablespoon of dried porcini/ chanterelle mushrooms – rehydrated
  • 3 cloves of garlic- crushed
  • 5 sprigs of thyme
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 or 3 tablespoons of truffle oil
  • around 375g dried spaghetti (this is 3/4 of a 500g packet)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 75g parmesan to serve

Who doesnt love making new friends?! So I made a new friend in my local marketplace who had saved me some gorgeous morels (wild mushrooms), now they might be a little expensive but they were well worth it when I paired them with this pasta recipe. Sporeboys (pretty witty name I thought) do a few market places in London and always do a fantastic mushroom sandwich or mushroom risotto, I recommend having a look on their site to see where you can find them if you’re into fungus (the mushroom kind, duh) you’ll LOVE them.

Put around 3/4 a pack of spaghetti into salted boiling water (there were three of us eating and we all had seconds… you’ll want seconds)

Rehydrate your dried mushrooms by putting them in a cup or bowl with some boiling water and cover with clingfilm (only just cover the mushrooms with water as we will use the broth afterwards and dont need too much liquid, roughly 1/4 cup).

I used roughly 150g of mushrooms all together, if you cant get hold of morels then fret not, find any nice fresh mushrooms, usually the more open they are the more flavour they will have. Chop your mushrooms however you desire, for variation I chopped mine about 5 different ways.

Sautee the mushrooms and crushed garlic in olive oil and butter adding the thyme and parsley as they start to sizzle.

Add the broth from the rehydrated mushrooms, you dont want more than around 1/4 cup of liquid as you need it to boil down leaving only the gorgeous earthy flavours.

When the broth has almost disappeared add in the spaghetti and slowly turn with tongs on a VERY low heat to warm through all the ingredients.

Add truffle oil, salt, pepper and give one last toss.

Sprinkle with parmesan and serve with extra so as guests can help themselves… I know I have one rule that goes against everything in me that wants to be healthy, it goes ‘you can never have too much cheese’. I also know I have found times when there has been an exception to this rule but I choose to rule them out of my memories and just say that no one human being should eat a full block of cheese no matter how delicious it just wasnt meant to be. On that note I did see a guy at my work eat a block of cheese like it was a sandwich so maybe it is kosher and I just never got the memo?

Enjoy this meal with prosecco just so you can feel extra fancypants… oh if my pocket watch doesnt say it’s time for me to go, quaff quaff and such.  

We hope you enjoy this recipe and if you want to see what we really look like check us out on film at our Kickstarter (and SHARE SHARE SHARE) where for a limited time you can see footage of us and help us turn this blog into a tv series. 🙂

20140521-164341-60221750.jpg

20140521-164340-60220859.jpg

20140521-164339-60219903.jpg

20140521-164342-60222682.jpg

Leave a Reply

