Market crumble: Apple and plum with coconut crumble

image

I have no willpower when it comes to discounted market produce, why I keep going to the market on a sunday afternoon is beyond me! As of 2pm everything is packaged to go and DIRT CHEAP. So I come home with enough food to feed a small army and a million recipe ideas bouncing in my head..makes for a creative week though…and I don’t hear anyone else complaining!

To keep us hydrated we brought coconuts to drink while we braved the rabble in the market hall and when I got home I still had the whole coconut in my bag! Win. So this recipe sprung out from my idea to desiccated my own coconut meat, however you can use store-bought coconut …I just felt like having a go. So I scooped out the coconut meat, thinly sliced it and then dried it out in the oven at 100C for about 30-40min, but it assume sun-drying would work too? But sadly it was an overcast Melbourne afternoon and I simply couldn’t wait!!

I also picked up a tonne of plums just as I was leaving, a bit cheeky, had to shove the bag under my arm and make a run for it before I saw anything else….anyway plums are glorious at the moment so from here I bring to you my Apple and Plum crumble with, none other than, my homemade coconut crust

for the fruit
4 Granny smith apples, peeled and sliced into thin wedges
700g plums, pitted and quartered
1/2 small lemon, juiced
1tbs coconut sugar*

for the crumble
3/4 plain flour
1/2 coconut sugar*
2/3 desiccated coconut
100g unsalted butter
1tbs each of orange and lemon rind

image

How to?
1. Preheat oven to 180C and grease a 2.5L capacity oven proof dish.
2. In a bowl rub together the butter and flour until it resembles breadcrumbs, then mix in your other crumble ingredients.

image
3. Place your fruit in the dish and cover with crumble mixture, pack it down firmly so the fruits are compact (helps the plum juice cook down and soften the apple) 30-35min or until fruit is tender.
Serve with Vanilla bean ice-cream!!! (or potentially go for a low sugar option and have Greek yogurt….Treat yo’ self)

 

We hope you enjoy this recipe and don’t forget to check out our Kickstarter and SHARE SHARE SHARE.

Hugs & Nonsense

M&G

image

image

Leave a Reply

