A lovely bunch of Coconut! (coconut sugar 101)

Hi there,

So this is not so much a recipe as it is a review, but I wanted to spread the love a bit and let you all know about a new product I’ve been sampling. You may have heard about it before, as healthy sugar alternatives are all the ‘rage’ at the moment, but coconut sugar is no fad, it’s a sugar alternative that has traces of antioxidants, alongside  minerals Iron, Zinc, Calcium and Potassium! It is also lower in GI compared to normal table sugar. WIN!

image

Coconut sugar has a smooth flavour and doesn’t leave you feeling hyper for hours, however I would use it as sparingly as I use normal sugar…it is still a ‘sugar’ after all.

But everything in moderation…even moderation. So if you’re feeling like baking or trying a favourite curry dish you can use coconut sugar instead of caster/palm/brown/demerara ect…

image

I hope you go out and try it, be a bit experimental and let me know what you come up with! For a bit of inspiration check out my recipe for Plum and Apple coconut crumble

 

PS: For those of you who like cold-hard evidence or simply want to hear it from a professional follow the following link to an article I found very constructive ( I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to these things…so I did my research) xxx

http://authoritynutrition.com/coconut-sugar/

 

Leave a Reply

