Quilliam’s Apple & Pear ‘Bet Cake’

Its coming up to Christmas, I had a couple of pears leftover from my festive chutney and wanted to be nice to some people in the office. Believe it or not I’ve never made anything and bought it in for them BUT instead of just bringing them in cake like a nice person I made a bet, a bet for free booze (what other kind of bet is there?!). If I could make a cake that tasted a good as the picture looked I would get free drinks bought for me all night at our Christmas party… challenge, accepted. Problem is the Christmas party is free drinks anyway so there’s a catch, I have to remain sober enough till the time we’re kicked out to get said free drinks, 11pm is the goal and espresso martinis are on the menu, that part I will have to keep you posted with but this is the cake… needless to say, I won the bet, standard. 😉
Ingredients:
CAKE
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
4 cups raw diced apples or 4 cups pears (I used 2 pears and 1 apple)
TOPPING
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup single cream
8 tablespoons of butter
Directions:
Cake:
Mix all cake ingredients by hand in order given. The batter is VERY thick, don’t be tempted to thin it with anything as remember there is a lot of juice that will come out of the apples and pears to help do that. It will still be very moist, I promise!
Pour in a greased 9 x 13 inch pan or spring form pan (I used a 9” square pan, it was a little small to pour the sauce over but it worked ok, I just stabbed a couple of knife slits in the top to pour the butterscotch into)
Bake at 175 degrees for 45 minutes and remove.
Topping:
This is essentially butterscotch sauce, its delicious, indulgent and probably not necessary if you’re trying to be good but delicious nevertheless and I recommend it.
In saucepan mix all ingredients and bring to a slow boil for 3 minutes.
Pour over cake and return to oven for 4 minutes to give it a semi crispy butterscotch top.

Sniff, cut, gobble. Mmm. You’re done.

20131129-134933.jpg

20131129-135003.jpg

Leave a Reply

